Showing posts with label Balaclava pier. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Balaclava pier. Show all posts

Thursday, 17 January 2013

Golden Horn, Fraserburgh: The Mystery Solved?


The recent references to the light house at the end of the Balaclava Breakwater have caused great controversy as to why, what has usually just been referred to as the lighthouse or the beacon, should be called the Golden Horn. It did seem that this name is a recent development but today  Grey Granite was informed by a most knowledgeable Brocher that it has 'aye been ca'ad' the Golden Horn but usage of the name has fluctuated. Apparently, when the lighthouse was being constructed between  1875 and 1882, a gold sovereign was placed, for luck, at the base of the tower. This sounds a more plausible  story than other theories about the origins of the name.

Prior to the extending of the  Balaclava Pier and  building a breakwater, boats trying to enter the harbour were frequently damaged in stormy weather. The original Balaclava Pier was much modified and extended during the 19th century as the needs of the fishing industry changed.

The laying of the foundation stone of the Balaclava Breakwater by Lord Saltoun, on 23rd October 1875, was an occasion of great pageantry, followed by ceremonial dinner for the Harbour Commissioners and the great and good of the town .  As part of  the parade in which all the trades of the town were represented Lord Saltoun was ceremoniously seated in  a Broadsea yole, mounted on  a specially built carriage and pulled from North Lodge Philorth to the pier by 100 grateful Broadsea fishermen. 




Friday, 4 January 2013

Fraserburgh:Balaclava Pier and the Golden Horn

The Esplanade looking west towards the harbour and 'Golden Horn' lighthouse
Looking East over the Esplanade from the South Links, the road follows line of the railway
After skirting the South Links for 0.25 miles east of  the site of Fraserburgh railway station the Formartine and Buchan Way  crosses South Harbour Road to join the Esplanade.  There are views to the east along the beach towards the Waters of Philorth and Cairnbulg Point where the wreck of the Banff registered Sovereign, which went aground on 18th December 2005, can usually be seen. The actual course of the Line is now under the South Harbour Road but may be picked up again close to the children's play area.  
The Golden Horn on a calm day
 The lighthouse at the end of the Balaclava Pier has, in recent years, become known as 'The Golden Horn', possibly because of the golden glow it takes on in certain lights. The lighthouse was erected when the Balaclava Pier  was extended. The original section of this  pier, at first  known as the New North Pier, was completed in 1856  or 1857 during the Crimean War and swiftly renamed to commemorate  the Battle of Balaclava. The lighthouse stands 22 metres above high water mark.

The  extension to the Balaclava   Pier was one of the first major marine structures in the country to be built entirely of concrete. Unfortunately,  since the  proportions of sand and stone to cement in the concrete were miscalculated, the  structure eroded very quickly and had to be extensively repaired within a relatively short time.
Battered by the storm, December 2012

Coinciding with high tides and described as the 'perfect storm' by the Meteorological  Office, this storm damaged the breakwater by the lighthouse.



Grey Granite would be pleased to hear from anyone who knows how the tag 'Golden Horn' arose.